#### **ANNUAL COUNCIL - 10 MAY 2016**

# 12 (a) <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND REVIEW OF ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES</u>

## 12 (b) APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS TO COMMITTEES

### 12 (c) APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND VICE CHAIRMEN

## 13 APPOINTMENTS TO THE DORSET AND WILTSHIRE FIRE AUTHORITY

Motion from the Leader of the Council

- (a) To note this report and the legal requirements.
- (b) To re-appoint the following committees with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution:-

**Appeals Committee** 

Area Planning Committees: Eastern, Northern, Southern and Western

**Audit Committee** 

Children's Select Committee

**Environment Select Committee** 

**Health Select Committee** 

Health and Wellbeing Board

Licensing Committee

Officer Appointments

Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee

Pension Fund Committee

Police and Crime Panel

Staffing Policy Committee

Standards Committee

Strategic Planning Committee

- (c) To re-appoint those Area Boards, constituted as area committees as set out in paragraphs 13 to 15 and Appendix 1 (item 12 (b) and within the Constitution, to comprise the Unitary Councillors for that area.
- (d) To re-appoint the Local Pension Board established under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 and consequent amendments to the Local Government Pension Scheme Regulations 2013 with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution.
- (e) To approve a scheme of committee places which sets out the number of seats available to members of the Council and to political groups as follows:

(Appendix 3 – schedule of committee places)

Committee	Total Number of Places for Elected Members	Conservative Group Allocation	Liberal Democrat Group Allocation	Labour Group Allocation	Independent Group Allocation	UKIP
	Members	( 61 seats)	(21 seats)	( 4 seats)	(10 seats)	(1 seat)
Strategic Planning	11	7	3	-	1	-
Area Planning Committees						
North South	11 11	8 6	2 2	2	1	-
East West	8 11	7 7	2	<del>-</del> -	1 2	-
Licensing	12	8	2	-	2	-
Overview and Scrutiny Management	15	8	4	1	2	-
Children's Select	13	8	3	1	1	-
Environment Select	13	7	4	1	1	-
Health Select	13	7	3	1	2	-
Standards	11	7	3	-	1	-
Police and Crime Panel	7	4	2	-	1	-
Audit	11	7	2	-	1	1
Appeals	8	5	1	1	1	-
Staffing Policy	9	5	2	-	1	1
Officer Appointments	5	3	1	-	1	-
Pension Fund	5	4	1	-	-	-
TOTALS:	174	108	37	7	18	2
Vacancy	1					

(f) To appoint councillors to serve on those committees in accordance with the agreed scheme of committee places, until the next occasion

- membership is reviewed under the provisions of the Local Government & Housing Act 1989.
- (g) To appoint substitute members (to a maximum of four per group) to the Committees referred to above.
- (h) To appoint those councillors representing electoral divisions to their respective areas boards as set out in Appendix 2 to this report (including the appointment of Cllr Jamie Capp, the recently elected Councillor for the Amesbury East Division to the Amesbury Area Board).
- (i) To reappoint the following co-opted non-voting members to the Standards Committee for their remaining term of office until the unitary and parish elections in May 2017:

Mr John Scragg

Miss Pam Turner

Mr Paul Neale

Mr Philip Gill MBE, JP

(j) To extend the term of appointment of the following three current Independent Persons for a further year until the Annual Meeting of the new Council in May 2017 and to note that a recruitment process would be undertaken in advance of that date to recommend appointments to these positions:

Mr Stuart Middleton

Mrs Caroline Baynes

Mr Colin Malcolm

(k) To reappoint the following non-elected members to the Children's Select Committee:-

Non-Elected Voting Members	Representing
Mrs Lynne Swainston	Church of England
Dr Mike Thompson	Clifton Diocese Roman Catholic Church
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary- maintained)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary – academy)
Mrs Alice Kemp	Parent Governor (Special Educational Needs)
Mr Ken Brough	Parent Governor (Primary)

Non-Elected Non-Voting Members (Up to Five) Mr James Wilkins	School, Children and Young People representatives
Ms Cathy Shahrokni	Further Education Representative
Miss Sarah Busby	Secondary Schools Headteacher Representative
Miss Tracy Cornelius	Primary School Headteachers Representative
Mr James Hawkins	School Teacher Representative

(I) To appoint the following Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen:-

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Strategic Planning Committee Area Planning Committee – Eastern Area Planning Committee – Northern	A Davis C Howard T Trotman	A Trotman M Connolly P Hutton C Devine J Knight D Allen J Wickham R Britton J Smale J Thomson C Howard Delegated to the
		Board

- (m) To note that the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee, the Select Committees, Area Boards and the Police and Crime Panel will be asked to elect their respective Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen at their first meeting following the annual meeting of council.
- (n) To appoint 10 members to serve as Council representatives on the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority as detailed below:

Conservative (6)	Lib Dem (2)	Independent (1)	Labour (1)
C Devine	P Edge	E Clark	R Rogers
G Payne	B Jones		
M Groom			
C Newbury			
B Wayman			
J Knight			